How do you do?

I have hemmed and hawed for weeks, wondering just how to begin this blogging thing. More than likely, the only people who ever read this will already know me (or think they do). But just in case someone new drops by, I suppose introductions are in order.

I am a middle-aged, rather frumpy (OK, I prefer Hobbity), wife (26 years and counting) and mother of two young adults. I homeschooled those young adults from kindergarten right through high school. I live in a different kind of suburban neighborhood, in a smallish house with bits that are probably over a hundred years old.

A do-it-yourselfer from birth, I have dabbled in all sorts of arts and crafts, and a career or two ago spent about 7 years teaching women said crafts. Shall I list them?

  • spinning
  • weaving
  • needlepoint/cross stitch/embroidery
  • knitting
  • crochet
  • basket making
  • and just about anything else you do with yarn
  • also painting

Most of those endeavors were preempted by the previously mentioned homeschooling, after all, there is only so much time and energy, so, many of my creative juices have been channeled into cooking. My younger self also loved horseback riding, but time and finances haven’t allowed me to continue. Since graduating my two students, however, yarn-y crafts are making their way back into my life.

And last, but not least, I am a right wing, conservative, firearm-purchaser’s-ID-card-carrying Christian. Does that scare you? It shouldn’t. But I thought you should know.

There is no set plan on what direction this blog will take. I expect that it will begin with random thoughts, opinions, and memories. I hope you enjoy them. Let the adventure begin!

About knitwit56

I've been a housekeeper; a craft/needlework teacher; a computer programmer; and a homeschool, stay-at-home mom. I'm still a mom, but have graduated my homeschoolers, which leaves a little more time for rediscovering the things I like to do: reading, fiber arts, cooking, writing. I'm also a "Lord of the Rings" fan - I watched "The Return of the King" 15 times in theaters, in 11 different states, and I have shelves full of Tolkien related books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

