Oh the Books

Just recently, I realized that I have a lot of librarians in my life. My niece is the librarian at Bok Tower Gardens in Florida, the only carillon library in the USA, possibly the largest in the world. (http://boktowergardens.org/tower-gardens/library-archives/) A very dear friend, who has gone on to her eternal reward was a librarian. I have at least two other friends who are librarians. And I dearly love the librarian at our tiny local library – she knows what we like to read and watch, and will set new items aside for us.

I mentioned to one of my librarian friends just last Sunday, that when she visits our house, she will either be terribly dismayed, or delighted. You see, we live in a small house, 1200 square feet or so, and own over 2500 books, not including the piles in our bedroom that have yet to be added to our book database. There are books everywhere. Sorted mostly by size.

There are seven bookcases here in the living room alone, four short ones and three tall ones, several with books that are double shelved, plus books piled up on tables. Whoops, make that eight, I forgot to count the little one over in the corner there. There are books from college days, 16 years worth of homeschooling books, craft books, gardening books, novels, cookbooks. Lots of cookbooks.

Some people will cull their book collection and only keep a few favorites. This is something I just do not understand. I know that I’ll want to revisit them all. How do I get rid of that one that my kids read over and over? My grand-kids will surely want to read it some day.  I have lent books to friends, but you can be sure I keep track of who has what – and I know who has the one that was never returned. (Although I still love the borrower. Really, I do.)

I have a small box of books in my basement left from what I tried to give away at used curriculum sales. I did pass on a few gems that way, but the effort always seemed to outweigh the benefit. So there you have it. We are overrun with books, both wonderful and mundane. Fortunately for me, my husband also loves books and is very tolerant, so it looks like my books will be with me for a long time.

About knitwit56

I've been a housekeeper; a craft/needlework teacher; a computer programmer; and a homeschool, stay-at-home mom. I'm still a mom, but have graduated my homeschoolers, which leaves a little more time for rediscovering the things I like to do: reading, fiber arts, cooking, writing. I'm also a "Lord of the Rings" fan - I watched "The Return of the King" 15 times in theaters, in 11 different states, and I have shelves full of Tolkien related books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

