Beans. Baked Beans.

My son’s friend called him recently to invite us all to his birthday party. This is not unusual – our families have celebrated similar events together for decades. But then he passed on a request that I bring “my baked beans”.

“Are you sure your mother didn’t ask for potato salad? She makes really good potato salad.”

“Nope. Baked beans.”

Now me. “I make baked beans? I make potato salad.”

I do make really good potato salad, and lots of other things, but I don’t believe I’ve mastered baked beans. I’ve been trying to emulate Jane’s (Jesse’s friend’s mother) baked beans for years. In fact, to practice I made some beans for supper last week. They weren’t so good.

Dan remembered some beans I made once that were really good. I hoped that I’d made note of what I’d done. I looked in my recipe data base, and no such luck.

To make things more interesting, our church is having a pot-luck picnic on the same day, I might as well make beans for both events, right? So, not wanting to fail small, I now have a 12 quart pot, filled to the brim with beans, pork, onions, peppers, and spices, sitting in my refrigerator, waiting to be divided up tomorrow to go to our various events. Did I follow a recipe? Goodness, no. What fun would that be? I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Update: 6/30/2013

Well, the beans seemed to go over well. Maybe a little less cayenne next time, and add some water or broth to reheat. The hostess and birthday guy were pleased. I do have some leftovers… guess what we’re having for dinner tomorrow.

About knitwit56

I've been a housekeeper; a craft/needlework teacher; a computer programmer; and a homeschool, stay-at-home mom. I'm still a mom, but have graduated my homeschoolers, which leaves a little more time for rediscovering the things I like to do: reading, fiber arts, cooking, writing. I'm also a "Lord of the Rings" fan - I watched "The Return of the King" 15 times in theaters, in 11 different states, and I have shelves full of Tolkien related books.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Beans. Baked Beans.

  1. Paulette says:

    Pork fat and maple syrup! My New England style beans really are baked. So yummy I don’t make them anymore unless there is a huge crowd to share, I would eat too much! BTW, cayenne would NEVER be included LOL

  2. Pingback: Old Friends are Awesome. | Silver Boxes

Leave a Reply

