Old Friends are Awesome.

We had two meetings of old friends recently. One planned and the the other more serendipitous. The latter was a family who has moved to another state visiting at church. We felt a little privileged since we’d had the opportunity to meet their new baby when nobody else at church had. The first meeting was the birthday party mentioned in my previous post.

There is something wonderful about getting together with people who have a long standing  common history. Don’t get me wrong, I cherish my new friends. But some of these friends knew me before I even met my husband, much less had children, or got old and fat. With these people I can pick up where we left off, even if it’s been months since we last spoke directly.

We’ve been through a lot together, some of these friends and me. Marriages, births, infertility, miscarriages, the funerals of parents and friends, watching each others’ children grow, church growth and church splits. We pray for each other, and we call when something momentous happens.

There is an interconnected-ness with many of these friends that can only be established over the course of time. Some of their kids call me “Mom number 2.” For some of the younger ones, it’s been too long and they don’t really know who I am, but there is history there, even if they don’t know it.

We were together for a while, and circumstances changed, and we remained friends. Now and then we can be together again. And that is a wonderful thing.

About knitwit56

I've been a housekeeper; a craft/needlework teacher; a computer programmer; and a homeschool, stay-at-home mom. I'm still a mom, but have graduated my homeschoolers, which leaves a little more time for rediscovering the things I like to do: reading, fiber arts, cooking, writing. I'm also a "Lord of the Rings" fan - I watched "The Return of the King" 15 times in theaters, in 11 different states, and I have shelves full of Tolkien related books.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

