Sticks and Stones

It never ceases to amaze me how quickly a political “discussion” (i.e., comments on a post) will degenerate into name calling and flame wars. I like to read both conservative and liberal news articles, and sometimes I start to read the comments out of curiosity. More often than not, the posts will begin name calling and siting questionable “facts”.

When I first moved out of my smallish country town into a more urban area, I found it very easy to get caught up in the competitive, aggressive driving habits of many in my new area. Once I even chased a car down the road that had cut me off and clipped my bumper in the process. Not my proudest moment. I get how easy it is to slide into mob behavior. I’ve found I have to make a deliberate, concerted effort to keep from giving back the same competition and aggression. Being caught up in a mob is no excuse for poor choices, even a virtual mob.

Every once in a while I will read a comment that is well thought out that makes me sit back and reconsider my own point of view. Do people really think they will accomplish that by denigrating whole groups of others? No matter how creative and entertaining the names they come up with are, their point is forever lost.

Sigh. Getting off my soapbox now.

P.S. Here is the list of suggested tags for this post from WordPress: Aggressive driving, South Park, Trey Parker, Matt Stone, Twitter, Video game, Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, Police officer. Huh?

About knitwit56

I've been a housekeeper; a craft/needlework teacher; a computer programmer; and a homeschool, stay-at-home mom. I'm still a mom, but have graduated my homeschoolers, which leaves a little more time for rediscovering the things I like to do: reading, fiber arts, cooking, writing. I'm also a "Lord of the Rings" fan - I watched "The Return of the King" 15 times in theaters, in 11 different states, and I have shelves full of Tolkien related books.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sticks and Stones

  1. Darlene Brett says:

    Guess you would call me a cautious driver…NZ drivers are quite aggressive as a whole, but I’m a “little old lady” driver so what do I know???? Everyone is entitled to their opinion..enjoy each day as a gift from God, for it truly is in His hands.

Leave a Reply

