Shoes. Who Knew?

I like pretty shoes as much as the next person, only I’ve never been able to be real picky about the shoes I wear. My feet have always been hard to fit. When I was a kid my mother had to take me to a “special” shoe store a couple of towns away. According to the sales guy (this was in the olden days when shoe salesmen actually knew what they were talking about, and measured your feet with a special gizmo) I had a wide ball and narrow heal. If only my foot troubles stopped there.

Skip forward quite a few years to an eight year bout with plantar fasciitis in both feet and subsequent weight gain. Probably due to the extra weight, my feet have apparently gotten wider. Have you tried to find wide sized shoes in a shoe store lately? Over the last few years, the selection has gotten smaller and smaller, and now it seems that most stores don’t carry any at all.

Combine feet that are an “odd” size with feet that are sore most of the time, and you get feet that are very hard to find shoes for. With the ever expanding size of the American population, I find it hard to believe that I’m the only one with wide feet who needs shoes.

I need shoes. And I need comfortable shoes. I would like to have shoes that don’t look like they belong on a 90 year old using a walker, thank you.

I even tried mail order – out of the five pairs of shoes I ordered, I had to return three. To save shipping we were allowed to return them to a local retail store. This resulted in an adventure to an urban mall the likes of which I hope to never experience again. (Another story. Valet parking, really?)

Anyhow, all this is to explain the heart stopping excitement I experienced yesterday when I went to get some cat food. A new Martin’s shoe store was having its grand opening a couple of doors down. Oh great, another place I won’t be able to buy shoes from. I paid little attention as I walked by on my way to the pet food store.

On the way back, however, loaded down with about 20 pounds of cat food, I stopped to look in the window and out of habit started scanning for boxes marked with “wide”. There was one, and another, and another… I kept looking. Those beautiful red stickers were all over the place. I went in to take a closer look. Glory! They not only had wide sizes, but they had them in multiple styles.

I wanted to kiss the sales clerk, but he was busy. But I’ll be back.

About knitwit56

I've been a housekeeper; a craft/needlework teacher; a computer programmer; and a homeschool, stay-at-home mom. I'm still a mom, but have graduated my homeschoolers, which leaves a little more time for rediscovering the things I like to do: reading, fiber arts, cooking, writing. I'm also a "Lord of the Rings" fan - I watched "The Return of the King" 15 times in theaters, in 11 different states, and I have shelves full of Tolkien related books.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shoes. Who Knew?

  1. Darlene Brett says:

    Glad you finally got a shoe store with wider fittings. Here in NZ I have trouble getting shoes that are narrow enough for my feet and especially my heel…so I wear mostly “sling-back” shoes or need to purchase those heel thingies to make them fit better. I did manage to buy a pair of nice black sandals while in Minnesota..on sale 50% off…never heard of here in NZ!!

Leave a Reply

