At Least They Were Easy to Peel

I told myself to clean the refrigerator today. It was about as empty as it ever gets with my keep-it-stocked-because-you-never-know mentality. But no. Then we went to Costco this evening and filled the thing right back up.

What does that have to do with things peeling, you ask? Well, we have a plastic egg container that holds two dozen eggs. The organic eggs we get from Costco come in cartons of two dozen. I had seven eggs left. The little pot that I hard boil eggs in holds exactly seven eggs. So I emptied the old eggs into my little pot, and filled my egg container with the new eggs. Then I set the little pot aside while we ate the Costco pizza we brought home for dinner.

Later this evening, after dinner and a show (The Dog Whisperer on Netflix) and evening devotions, I filled the little pot with water and set it on the stove to heat. And then sat down to read some facebook while I waited for it to boil. Ironically, I was watching videos of the 10 alarm fire down at Seaside Heights.

Ah. I know just what you’re thinking. And you’d be right. Fortunately, before it got to the snap, crackle, and pop stage – go ahead, ask me how I know what that sounds like – Dan walked into the kitchen and noticed the eggs were completely out of water. He wisely backed away when I brought a pitcher of cold water over to the stove, but I managed to dribble it in slowly enough that nothing spectacular happened.

The eggs were removed from the pot and run under cold water. Not being one to waste food (I am my mother’s daughter; some day I’ll tell you about the ants in the cereal box) I set about peeling them, hoping I’d be able to salvage at least some of each egg. And, indeed, they did peel very easily. Apart from a small brown spot on each one, and a slightly smokey smell, they seem to be quite edible, even if a bit overcooked.

So there you have it. The exciting conclusion to my day. (And, no, I’m not being sponsored by Costco – or Netflix, for that matter.) Maybe I’ll invent a new dish: smoked egg salad.

About knitwit56

I've been a housekeeper; a craft/needlework teacher; a computer programmer; and a homeschool, stay-at-home mom. I'm still a mom, but have graduated my homeschoolers, which leaves a little more time for rediscovering the things I like to do: reading, fiber arts, cooking, writing. I'm also a "Lord of the Rings" fan - I watched "The Return of the King" 15 times in theaters, in 11 different states, and I have shelves full of Tolkien related books.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

