It Slices, It Dices

Our refrigerator is still limping along (see: Random Laundry Rant), but our old mixer/blender/food processor/juicer finally gave up the ghost. It was an Oster Kitchen Center and it could perform any of those functions depending on the attachment you used. It had stopped being a mixer a while back – the motor no longer had the oomph to run it. But the blender still worked. Until a few days ago.

A while back I made off with my grandmother’s KitchenAid mixer that was stored in Mom’s basement, and it moved further up in life when my bread machine started spewing smoke. With the demise of the bread machine the mixer no longer resides in my basement to be lugged upstairs when called for, but has a place on my rather crowded kitchen counter. Both the Oster and the bread machine were over 20 years old. They served me well and deserve their retirement.

Now I have a brand-y new blender sitting in the Oster’s place. To be fair, I don’t think it slices, or dices, but I’m looking forward to finding out what it does do. So far we’ve made smoothies and soup. According to America’s Test Kitchen it should serve marvelously. (I got the cheaper winner. Even if I could have justified the expense, the more expensive model wouldn’t fit under my cabinets.)

There was a bit of a learning curve to make bread in the KitchenAid. I was used to taking the dough out of the bread machine and baking it in the oven – my model made those funky round loaves – and using the mixer is a tiny bit more involved than “dump in the ingredients and set the timer”. I can still only make one loaf at a time this way, mine is the smaller model – not great for bulky recipes, but much better for fitting into my kitchen.

A million years ago, when I was working as a housekeeper in a convalescent home, the head housekeeper’s assistant once said to me, “I bet you never thought you would get excited about a new mop.” (She was right.) Now I’m excited about a not-so-new mixer and a new blender that promise to make my life in the kitchen more pleasant. Who knew?

Oh, yes. And now my kitty has a new box.

2013-10-23 Goldie-in-the-box

About knitwit56

I've been a housekeeper; a craft/needlework teacher; a computer programmer; and a homeschool, stay-at-home mom. I'm still a mom, but have graduated my homeschoolers, which leaves a little more time for rediscovering the things I like to do: reading, fiber arts, cooking, writing. I'm also a "Lord of the Rings" fan - I watched "The Return of the King" 15 times in theaters, in 11 different states, and I have shelves full of Tolkien related books.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It Slices, It Dices

  1. Della Shuler says:

    There’s nothing quite like the joy of the new, or new, “used” kitchen gadget. My blue Kitchen Aid mixer is my kitchen soldier. The younger food processor still can give me a thrill. Space considerations made me pass on the bread machine to Chris and his beloved. (You know if you wanted to replace that bread machine, a good place to pick up a used one for a bargain is off of your local Craig’s list.) My new toy at the moment is an electronic pressure cooker that a friend who has MS and entered assisted living passed on to me.

    • knitwit56 says:

      I think I’ll forgo replacing the bread machine for the time being. I like having that extra square foot of counter space, and it really isn’t that much more trouble to make dough in the mixer!

      I’ve never cooked with a pressure cooker, but I’ve always wanted to explore that. Let me know how yours works out.

Leave a Reply

